Old 80cc bike no acceleration or pull.

• Thread starter Deleted member 29767
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 29767

Hiya, I'm pretty new to motorized bikes. I just recently bought one used for a great deal, and was having fun with it for a while. When I first got it going, it didn't have much acceleration but it kept speed and was very fun. Occasionally at higher speeds it would have some spurts of acceleration. However I took it out a second time, and it can't even keep speed. I warmed it up and everything.

Some notes:
  • The fuel filter was backwards when I got it. I've corrected that.
  • Fuel leaks out of the air intake when the bike is off, as long as the tank valve is open.
  • The bike has been broken in a long time ago.
  • When I mixed the gas, I put in exactly one gallon of gas into a gas tank along with 6.4 fl oz of oil, should be 20:1 ratio. It is kinda cheap oil, dollar general brand.
  • The carb is angled diagonally.
Any ideas? A different brand of oil? The person who had it before me seemed to ride it fine with that oil.

I can perform additional diagnostics as needed.

One thing’s for sure.., your float isn’t closing the needle. There should never be fuel creepin’ out th’ carb, valve off or not. It could be an over-tipped carb/bowl, not allowing the float to lift, but most of these can actually handle a good fifteen-degree or so (plus, or minus), still seat and close the needle. You may needa adjust the float tab, or even rebuild with a new needle/seat, but a $20 carb swap may be a quick fix, over the frustration of a rebuild and adjust. Your oil could have something to do with that (the “surging”, as well as the leak), if it sits for periods or has been. There are much bigger brains out there, maybe they have better solutions, but StaBil may clean some of that up over a few runs.