Fairly new Chinese 80cc not running at full potential with occasional starting issues.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nate82

Local time
5:26 AM
Okay so this is my first post in this form so I'm going to give as much details as possible in order to try to get help with my issue that I'm having with my 80cc 2-stroke china doll.

Let me first start off by saying I am a certified small engine mechanic and very much know what it takes to make an engine tick. With that being said I am far from a professional and definitely not a professional with these China dolls. So on to my issue. I threw this bike together put everything together the way it should be wired everything up. Fired it up and she ran great still needed to be broken in obviously. Stupid me didn't think about the break-in the first time I took it out that was the first run then I realized s*** I got to break this motor in properly.

That's when I decided that I would do a few runs and let it cool off then another run, let it cool off then another run at varying throttle positions letting it cool in between. It seemed to have been breaking in perfectly fine, and I was even starting to get a little bit better in the RPM range at the top end then suddenly one day it wouldn't start. I pulled the plug, checked for fire, there was fire but the plug was wet from trying to get it started. I ended up ditching that cheap Chinese plug and putting in the NGK replacement (the br6hs, gapped to just below 0.030 of an inch so it's probably Gapped to 0.028- 0.029 of an inch), gave her another try and it fired up right away.