Thread Repair: Wow, idiot proof

Skyliner70cc

Local time
12:48 PM
I stripped two bolt holes from repeatedly removing/installing the creative engineering clutch assembly-its for sale by the way since I don't care for the feel.

I've never used a thread repair kit before and I was leaning towards buying a helicoil kit but heard how much of a pain they can be to use.

I ended up with a Timesert thread repair kit and LET ME TELL you. It took me 10 minutes to fix both threads and I wasn't even rushing.

This thing is pretty much idiot proof and allowed me to repair the threads without having to remove the engine from the bike. I am sold on this thread repair technology and highly recommend it to anybody who strips the thread on their bike. I would trust it on anything from engine mounts to head studs.

Hope this helps someone as much as it has helped me.

:gunsmilie:
I stripped two bolt holes from repeatedly removing/installing the creative engineering clutch assembly-its for sale by the way since I don't care for the feel.

I've never used a thread repair kit before and I was leaning towards buying a helicoil kit but heard how much of a pain they can be to use.

I ended up with a Timesert thread repair kit and LET ME TELL you. It took me 10 minutes to fix both threads and I wasn't even rushing.

This thing is pretty much idiot proof and allowed me to repair the threads without having to remove the engine from the bike. I am sold on this thread repair technology and highly recommend it to anybody who strips the thread on their bike. I would trust it on anything from engine mounts to head studs.
Hope this helps someone as much as it has helped me.

Did ya use red locktight or did ya J B weld them in? I told ya they were the bomb! us old bikers are good for something LOL

a heck of a statement !!

I would trust it on anything from engine mounts to head studs.

a heck of a statement