WTH! @_@ -Peddling bike makes engine emit strange noise.

Rainsawck!

Local time
12:16 PM
So, I made my attempt at mounting my rear 36t sprocket to my Schwinn Delmar following the horrible assembly guide sent to me by the distributor. And it's made a weird problem.

I finished everything up, flipped over the bike and tried to "Peddle" the bike by hand to make sure the rear tire would go smoothly.

It wouldn't. (SURPRISE!)

Instead, the rear tire only moves in "Jerks", and at the end of each of these jerks the muffler emits a "PUT" sound. As if the engine was trying to start or something...

I've included some pictures of my rear hub and sprocket. I'm 150% sure I did something wrong in that area. Will someone help me figure out what's going on?

Please be gentle with me, I'm a newb with a black and white photo copied guide with nearly no pictures on it. I've spent nearly 20 hours straight constantly met with failure and only a tin of Altoids to keep me sane.

Attachments

• Blegh 001.jpg
    Blegh 001.jpg
    139.6 KB · Views: 348
  • Blegh 002.jpg
    Blegh 002.jpg
    114.7 KB · Views: 319
  • Blegh 003.jpg
    Blegh 003.jpg
    107.4 KB · Views: 304
  • Blegh 004.jpg
    Blegh 004.jpg
    141.1 KB · Views: 318
  • Blegh 005.jpg
    Blegh 005.jpg
    122.9 KB · Views: 301
  • Blegh 008.jpg
    Blegh 008.jpg
    114.4 KB · Views: 324
Last edited:
if the wheel spins freely without the engine connected then the clutch is engaged or needs adjustment.

i may be all wrong but i'm asuming you have a HT engine?

if that's so, go over to the left side of the bike and pull in the clutch, then try to pedal by hand again. should be smooth and free.

to start and ride with this setup you have to pull in the clutch ,pedal up to speed and release the clutch.

the jerking you are experiencing now is because you are turning the engine thru compression strokes and it's attempting to start.

keep at it, you're almost done.

steve