Motored cycling in Sydney, Australia.

Z

zumer

I'm new to these threads, and I've been reading about the uncertain and inconsistent legislation that you poor buggers have to deal with in the US. When I first got to thinking about a motorised bike, I rang our Roads & Traffic Authority and asked them what the law allowed me. The criteria here is:
200W max.
50cm³ max.
50 km/h max.
Apart from that, no limits, no exception clauses for gearboxes or whatever.
Most gas engines are rated at more than 200W max., but they only produce more at higher revs. In Europe and other parts of the world, the restrictions are similar to ours, except that they generally limit top speed to 20 km/h or 25 km/h.