Considering cross country this summer - questions

C

Cutwolf

I'm very new to cycling but while I have time before I start law school, I want to do this. I've always been the "escape" type; I love making the twice yearly 20 hour drive from home to school by myself. Whenever I see a passing cargo train, I wish I could just hop on it once and randomly get off in a random place with not a care in the world.

Biking across the country is kind of a combo of those things (albeit a bit safer and more legal than the train thing).

1. As I'm not in shape, I'm considering using an engine. I'd bike part of the time and when I'm tired, use the engine to make up the difference between how far I pedaled and the amount I want to do that day. Another consideration is time. I'll only have from June 1st until approximately August 10th to do the trip. That's 10 weeks. That'd be enough to pedal, but I wouldn't have much time to stop and smell the roses.

I asked this at a biking forum and they all said it's a bad idea. They're most likely purists, however, so I kind of want to see it from the perspective of those who do have engines on their bikes.

So, general thoughts?

2. What kind of bike and what kind of engine kit would best serve my cross country needs? I was considering a Surly LHT or Trek 520, but I'm open to other opinions. My price range is $500-$1000 for the bike. I'd prefer on the cheaper end, but I don't want to skimp cost if it's just going to make the trip harder than it needs to be.

3. What are the legalities of this? Would I be able to follow the TransAm path with an engine on my bike?

I'm a newbie to biking and I'm also not very mechanically inclined, so forgive me if I get easily confused :)

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
you should make an intro post and say HI !
there are a few long distance riders here who should be able to give good advise