Engine Trouble Rode on wet pavement yesterday doesn't start tonight

THE DUDE

Local time
10:41 AM
View attachment 57890View attachment 57889

Hello im dave . I'm new to this cool informative

site this is the bicycle I built (Eleanor)... Here's the issue I rode it

yesterday on wet pavement and I'm thinking I must have fried the cdi

or possibly the magneto , when I tried to start it the next evening (tonight) it

Would start to turn over but Would sputter and eventually bog out

never achieveing full start up
Like it wanted to turn over but wouldn't

go and if I quit peddling

or released the clutch . While its trying to turn over it only seems to

have and little happy spot when squeezing the clutch at about the

quarter of a squeeze if that makes sence ... I'm trying to make this

easy to understand but I'm getting confused typing and re reading it

well I'm about to add the

jackshaft kit to her and figured I'd ask you all before getting into that

whole thing what u all may think or already may know what the issue is

I just don't wanna add the jackshaft if something is seriously wrong

with the engine .... And I possibly would need to replace something or

the engine itself idk I don't want have to reassemble if it's no good I

hope this was easier to read than it was to type on an iPhone hope the rest of ur Sunday is a good one

thanks for any and all help
Dave

Sounds like you are from the "tidewater" area, like Saddler bros and Burton bros of NASCAR fame. I still can't understand half of what Ward Burton says, but I'm a big fan. I agree that you need to get that motor sorted out before adding a shift kit. The China girl clutch is perplexing, but will give good service once sorted out. Ignition problems usually are a matter of process of elimination. Only replace one part at the time.

only takes a moment to check ohms on the mag coil, but if it is sparking, I'd guess that's OK