What the clutch!?!?!

RollingStones

Local time
11:46 AM
So A buddy gave me his bike before moving and though it wasn't running he said all i needed was a new carb and throttle and Id be good to go.
photo 5.jpg

After getting them and getting the bike running I took everything apart, painted the frame the color I wanted with the gas tank matching, got some new wheels and handle bars and painted the inside of the rims red. boyyyy is she a beautyyy nowww!

IMG_2233.jpg

Since this is my first build and I have no previous experience with any electrical or motor work I figured there would be a lot of trial and error through the process.

IMG_2234.jpgMotor is on it now and the most difficult for me as far as setting the motor and its parts back has been the clutch :eek:

The first time I got the bike running after maybe a mile the bike suddenly started to lose power until it just shut off. So I wheeled it back home and messed around with things until I was ready to try it back out.

as I was peddling and let go of the clutch and hit the throttle nothing happened. so I reached down and pushed the clutch pin back out by hand (I thought that I felt that the clutch wasn't springing back all the way when I let go of it)

IMG_2238.jpg sure enough she started up again but only to do the same exact thing as before and lose power and shut off after a little under a mile.

Since I have no experience I wanted to trade ideas with you experienced folks and see what I should do to trouble shoot this

Also I have no clutch cover and it is missing the clutch lock screw next to the flower nut. Just to add further details that may help you guys help me. IMG_2239.jpg

Thanks in advance!!!!!