Build of Recumbent with RS 35cc

Lee_K

Local time
11:16 AM
I have built recumbent bikes before, but this is my first try at any bike with a motor. I have already spent a lot of time reading here and designing, so I will start with my design intent. It will have 20 inch wheels, it needs to freewheel easily with motor off, not too recumbent riding position so I can look around better while riding. Since I have been holding back on starting the build, I have taken time to make an accurate 3D CAD model. I have just started the actual build and will post photos soon.

Attachments

• 01 CAD-Left.jpg
    01 CAD-Left.jpg
    41.9 KB · Views: 1,844
  • 02 CAD-Right.jpg
    02 CAD-Right.jpg
    42.7 KB · Views: 1,785
Looks interesting, I'd be intrigued to know more as the project develops. Good choice on engines.

I started with the swing arm because I had the material on hand, it is made from 3/4 by .035 tube. Its simple miter cuts. I made a template from scrap plywood with cuts made on miter saw to get the angles.
03SwingArm.jpg

The swing arm bracket is made from 1.5 by .035 tube with large washes as end caps. The drop-outs are made from 3/16 flat steel.
04SwingArmBracket.jpg

Next up is the frame.

Excellent Lee!. Great to see a project of this scope taking shape and being documented again, been a while and reminds me of the old days here.

Curious, what type or series tubing you'll be using and what weld process to join them?

Happy, thanks for taking an interest. All tubing is Chrome-molly (4130) with .035 wall thickness. I am using a small mig welder. I will have the frame roughed out real soon, then it will start to look like it might amount to something.