Sidewinder - Front wheel drive - Rear steering trike

I use an electric pallet jack that you ride on.
As long as I have the steering wheel LEADING the direction I am traveling, all is well. Going the other way- with the steering done in the back- it can get real squirly FAST. Just like that trike, it has a short wheelbase and 3 wheels (sort of). Only goes about 10 mph though.

yeah, I can see where it could get a little crazy, but I'm an old forklift operator, from way back..... & I could get used to it. See how he cut those low speed square corners? And the spinning would be a hoot!!

Don't get me wrong....I couldn't justify buying one, but I might build one???

I'm thinking a Staton friction kit on the rear wheel....?
That's doable, but poises some real issues in very tight cornering situations. I think I'd go with a behind the seat 35cc 4 banger feeding a powered chain loop forward to a freewheel capable crank chain ring, a la SBP's jackshaft, and let the power feed thru the gearing system/differential. The Samagaga differential is very nice, but that is one expensive bit of gear, if you can get one.

I'd go with an internal geared hub as a mid-drive, and do the "poor man's differential" that I've explained before.

Whatever you do, remember two things - reverse Ackerman is absolutely critical in a rear-steer trike, and a good deal of camber on the front wheels/half axles would be a REALLY good idea. For that reason I've been looking at twistable link belt as a final drive possibility, as is used in many industrial applications - you could go with up to a 15 degree negative camber, athough that is very high.

For myself, the biggest issue is being able to do differential brake steering - I haven't worked out a way to make that doable with my left hook, although I have a couple of ideas.