Stolen stolen in nyc

robpugl

Local time
12:54 PM
I hate to say it but they got mine. I've been riding for 3 years with no incidents
I recently purchased a new bike (specialized globe Centrum 08) hooked up my gebe redmax and flew off. Very surprised how fast and agile the combo was. Great for city riding. In and out of elevators up stairs curbs around and in-between cars. What can I say someone else liked it too? I had it for 6 days. I made the mistake of using a cable lock that was convenient instead the kryptonite lock that kept me protected for the past 3 years with my 1stt bike. it took them less than 30 seconds. O well I get to do it again perhaps I can find a newer lighter faster engine that came out in the past 3 years. I'm open for suggestions if any one has experience with different engines. Sound is also a consideration for the city if there's a way to shut these things up I'm all ears. Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
There is a definite market, and few suppliers of Bike Lockers.

That is under that Bailout Bill program, where businesses, plants, landlords get paid $35 a month PER bike, for bikes, improvements and storage.

On colleges, they have rows of these bike lockers, sort of like the bus depot lock box system, where you drive it in and lock it up.

There is also a type built out of wood, I think it was in Popular Mechanics, that is tamper proof.

Sorry to hear it.

That is one disadvantage to motor assisted bicycles; they're obvious theft targets.

Sometimes I lock mine very securely when I'm away from it for only a very short time and I feel kinda silly about it. But If I use the less secure, more convenient lock, then I worry about my bike.

Isn't it a shame how the thieves make us obsess over matters like this? I'd be willing to see them lose a hand for it. (Not quite seriously, but close)

As for your actual question; I have nothing to suggest. But someone will come along who does.