New Carb Tuning

DoktorD1313

Local time
5:26 AM
Hey guys!

I'm new to motor biking and I just assembled my first motor bike to get me around campus. I bought an 80cc 2 stroke from boygofast on ebay.

My question is, how do you tune the carburetor? I searched on the forums and have found some very helpful posts, however I'm still a little foggy on some things.

When would you move the retaining ring on the needle inside the carb?

Moving it towards the back end of the needle would do what? Moving it up closer to the point of the needle would do what?

When I tested my bike, I found that it would just not idle at all. As soon as I engaged the clutch, the motor would die out instead of idling unless I gave it a little throttle to keep it alive. I found a post with someone that had the same problem and just adjusted the idler screw.

I've heard a lot of terms like "lean" and "rich"... what do they mean? I heard that having the idler screw in too far can cause damage.

Bottom line is... I'm deathly afraid of trying to tune my engine and somehow causing it an early death.

Any suggestions with the carb?

The benefit of the idler screw is to lift the cylinder, which will allow a bigger gap between the cylinder and the throat of the carby. Do you have the standard carby? Assuming you have this carby, an easy way to inspect the "gap" is to remove the black air filter, and look straight through the throat of the carby. Inspect the gap and you don't want "NO GAP". This is a general cause of bogging.

So remove the filter, inspect the throat and adjust the idler screw until u have a reasonable gap for fuel/air to run through.

I'm not entirely sure about the idler screw being all the way in damaging the carby, but Ive had no problems doing that.

The needle rides in the main jet and blocks the main jet hole when it sits lower in the jet. Block jet means less fuel, leans out the mixture (less fuel to same air ratio)